Central Australia, also known as the Alice Springs Region, is one of the five regions in the Northern Territory that centres on Alice Springs. Sometimes referred to as Centralia, the region is located in the southern part of the Northern Territory spanning from the west on Western Australia Border and to the east on the Queensland border.


Rich in aboriginal culture and home to Australia’s most iconic natural landmark, Uluru, the Central Australia region is a must see destination for anyone wanting to experience true outback culture. Our Central Australia travel guide helps you discover some of the best things to see and do while there.

Central Australia Weather & Timezones


Central Australia is a semi arid environment and experiences all four of Australia's seasons – summer, autumn, winter and spring. Central Australia's climate is one of clear blue skies through most of the year, infrequent rain and a average of 9 hours of sunshine all day. This is a typical weather pattern of a desert region which has low erratic rainfall, long hot summers and short, sunny winters with frosty mornings.


Summer – (December – February) has hot days and nights

Autumn – (March – May) has warm days and nights, cooling down after summer

Winter – (June – August) has cool sunny days with cold nights

Spring – (September – November) has warm days and nights



Average Temperatures


Month Jan  Feb  Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Max  35.9 35 32.3 27.6 23 19.7 19.5 22.9 27 31.1 33.9 35.4
Min  20.9 20.1 17.1 12.2 7.7 4.9 3.7 6.0 8.7 14.4 17.6 19.9


Time Zone

The time zone in the Northern Territory is Australian Central Standard Time (CST).

CST is 30 minutes behind Australian Eastern Standard time (AEST), except in daylight savings period. Central Australia is Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) plus 9 ½ hours. The Northern Territory does not observe Daylight Savings time, and therefore CST is 1 ½ hours behind.


Daylight Savings

During daylight savings time the following is observed:

  • NSW, ACT, VIC, TAS – 1 ½ hours ahead
  • SA – 1 hour ahead
  • QLD – 30 minutes ahead
  • WA – 30 minutes behind


Daylight Saving Time (DST) is the practice of advancing clocks one hour during the warmer months of the year. In Australia,


Daylight saving is observed in New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia, Tasmania, and the Australian Capital Territory.


Daylight Saving Time begins at 2am on the first Sunday in October, when clocks are put forward one hour. It ends at 2am (which is 3am Daylight Saving Time) on the first Sunday in April, when clocks are put back one hour.